

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

November 16, 2016

Contact: Ellen R. Weiss eweiss@biophysics.org

# Biophysical Society Announces Speakers for 2017 Future of Biophysics Burroughs Wellcome Fund Symposium

Rockville, MD— The Biophysical Society is pleased to announce the speakers for the Future of Biophysics Burroughs Wellcome Fund Symposium. Now in its eighth year and supported by supported by the Burroughs Wellcome Fund, the Symposium highlights exciting research by young investigators at the interface of the physical and life sciences. The Symposium will take place on Monday, February 13, 2016, at the Ernest N. Morial Convention Center in New Orleans, Louisiana, as part of the Biophysical Society's 61<sup>st</sup> Annual Meeting.

The 2017 speakers and their talk titles for the Symposium are:

**Nozomi Ando**, Princeton University, X-Ray Vision into the World of Enzymes;

**Andreas Gahlmann**, University of Virginia, *Bacterial Type 3 Secretion Systems: High-Throughput 3D Single-Molecule Tacking of Sorting Platform Proteins in Live Cells;* 

**Irina Iachina**, University of Southern Denmark, Odense, Denmark, *Scanning He Ion- and Nonlinear Optical Microscopy Combined with Force Measurements for the Characterization of Spider Silk;* 

**Allen Liu**, University of Michigan, Repurposing Mechanosensitive Channels to Study Confined 3D Cell Migration;

**Scott Showalter**, Pennsylvania State University, *Phosphorylation Induces Sequence-Specific Conformational Switches in the RNA Polymerase II C-Terminal Doman; and* 

**Tim Stasevich**, Colorado State University, *Real-time Quantification of Single RNA Translation Dynamics in Living Cells*.

Burroughs Wellcome Fund, a private foundation in Research Triangle Park, supports researchers conducting interdisciplinary work between biology and physics.

The Biophysical Society, founded in 1958, is a professional, scientific society established to encourage development and dissemination of knowledge in biophysics. The Biophysical Society's Annual Meeting is the world's largest meeting of biophysicists—over 6,000 attendees are expected. Over 3200 scientific abstracts have already been submitted for presentation at this event. For more information about the Meeting or the Society, visit http://www.biophysics.org or contact the Society at (240) 290-5600.

#### **OFFICERS**

#### President

Suzanne Scarlata Worcester Polytechnic Institute

### President-Elect

Lukas Tamm University of Virginia

### Past-President

Edward Egelman
University of Virginia

### Secretary

Frances Separovic
University of Melbourne

### Treasurer

Paul Axelsen University of Pennsylvania

### **Executive Officer**

Rosalba Kampman Biophysical Society, Rockville

#### COUNCIL

Olga Boudker Jane Clarke Bertrand Garcia-Moreno Ruth Heidelberger Kalina Hristova Robert Nakamoto Arthur Palmer Gabriela Popescu Joseph D. Puglisi Michael Pusch Erin Sheets Joanna Swain

## BIOPHYSICAL JOURNAL

Editor-in-Chief Leslie Loew

## **COMMITTEE CHAIRS**

### Awards

Betsy Komives

# Early Careers

Bert Tanner

# Education

Gina MacDonald

### Finance

Paul Axelsen

## **Inclusion and Diversity**

Marina Ramirez-Alvarado

## **International Relations**

Daumantas Matulis

### **Member Services**

Frances Separovic Membership

# Juliette Lecomte

Nominating Erin Sheets

## **Professional Opportunities**

for Women (CPOW)

Gabriela Popescu

## **Public Affairs**

Edward Egelman

## Publications

Olaf Anderson

## Thematic Meetings Richard Aldrich